Start…

Somebody told me to start, so here I go.

This time last year, if you would have told me that by the end of the year I would fit into size 40 pants, and finally go on my long awaited trip to Disney World in Orlando, Florida, I would have laughed at you. Somewhere along the way, I had a paradigm shift.

A good friend resumed contact with me, and we talked about upcoming plans. One of mine was to visit him in Orlando, which I had placed on the back burner for some time. He told me he had not forgotten my intentions. After this brief messaging back and forth, it occurred to me that one of these days, I’m gonna have to pull the trigger. I was broke, but that shouldn’t matter. So…I bought a plane ticket. Non-refundable. I was going to Orlando, one way or another. That was in early June, the ticket for late September/October.

Over the next few months, I was forced to save. When I had enough to purchase Disney World tickets, I immediately did so. One month later, I did the same with Universal Orlando tickets. All I had to save for now was money for meals and souvenirs. (I had some help with the gift of some pixie dust from a friend.)

Also, I knew I need to lose some weight. One of the rides at the theme parks had a size limit. I weighed in at about 245 or so, I wanted to get down to 225. So I began watching what I ate, and exercising consistently. By one week before I left, I made the weight loss goal, and also was able to fit into size 40 jeans, which I hadn’t been able to so since middle school.

Somewhere along the line, I made a choice. I had some goals I wanted to achieve, (Disney and weight loss), and I had to make some changes to achieve them. But most importantly, I had to start. I had to take action. I didn’t wait until a Monday, or the first of the month, or a Monday that started on January 1st to begin. I think I started on a Thursday. Thursdays are acceptable days for starting things. So are Tuesdays. It doesn’t matter. And I was broke. That didn’t matter. What mattered is that I started…and had the willpower to follow through on the days that followed. This is also hard, but there are some “tricks”. Not shortcuts, but I guess you could call them mind-shifts about how to think about things. I developed several habits that helped me to stay on course. My starting was supported by consistently doing.

I will leave you with that. I will write more about some of the actions and habits I took to reach these two goals in later posts. For now, I leave you with a simple question, one to consider honestly…

What do you need to start that will bring about a desired outcome in your life?

Leave a Reply

